The Teacher Doesn’t Like Me

“The teacher does not like me,” Jimmy spat.

English: A special education teacher assists o...

English: A special education teacher assists one of her students. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Why doesn’t she?” Mom asked.

“I don’t know. She just doesn’t,” the boy answered.

Unfortunately, that was a line I heard every single school year that I taught in public schools. Someone in class claimed I did not like them. Many times, the complainant may actually have been one of my favorite students.

I had to learn the hard way that, as a teacher, students either loved me or hated me. More often than not, the latter proved true, whenever disciplining or some type of correction “came in to play.” Then, in a student’s eyes, I did not like them.

(Sigh.)

A few days ago, my sister who teaches high school called me up. “Do you remember Angela?”

“Yes,” I responded.

“Angela said you might remember her, that she was not the best student in your class the year you taught her. She didn’t understand what you were trying to tell her back then – about her behavior. She says she understands now. You were a good teacher.”

:)

4 thoughts on “The Teacher Doesn’t Like Me

  1. Pingback: Chapter 2: Institutionalized Religion | Dylan B. Raines

  2. Pingback: Institutionalized Religion

  3. Pingback: Chapter 2: Institutionalized Religion | Saunsea

  4. Pingback: Institutionalized Religion | Dylan Raines

Leave a Reply

